Indianscholars.org FlagHonour & Awards

2013: Appointed as Expert Member on the Scientific Panel in the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI), Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India.

2011: Meritorious Invention Award of National Research Development Corporation (NRDC), DSIR, Govt. of India (Will be presented on 26th May 2011 in Guwahati, India).

2010: Research Ambassador of Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD, Germany) to promote the bidirectional research endeavours between Indian and Germany.

2010: Fellow of Max Planck Institute of Infection Biology, Berlin.

2010: DST Young Scientist Fast Track Grant for the project entitled ‘Dissecting the role of the small GTPase Rap1 in Cancer’

2010: DBT Young Scientist RGYI Grant for the project entitled ‘Studies on the functional consequences of PKC phosphorylation of the tumour suppressor RASSF1A’

2009: Sanofi Pasteur Award to participate in the Fondation Merieux conference ‘Current challenges and new methodological approaches to assess vaccine effectiveness and vaccination impact’ held during 28 September 2009 to 1 October 2009 in Les Pensieres, Annecy, France.

2009: BioAsia Innovation Award conferred by the BioAsia, the Global Bio Business Forum.

2008: Young Scientist Award in the International Symposium on ‘Novel Strategies for Targeted Prevention and Treatment of Cancer’ held in School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India.

2008: CSIR Technology Award for Life Sciences conferred by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India.

2003: Commonwealth Scholarship from the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission, UK for doctoral studies in University of Oxford, UK.

2003: DST- DFG Award to attend the Global annual meet of Nobel Laureates (Medical Sciences) and Young Researchers in Lindau, Germany.

1999: Emerging Forensic Scientist Continental Award conferred by the International Association of Forensic Sciences (IAFS) in its 15th Triennial Meeting held in the University of California, Los Angeles, USA.

1998: Junior Research Fellowship of Department of Immunology, Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences (SGPGI), Lucknow, India.

1998: Junior Research Fellowship of Department of Pharmacology, Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI) Lucknow, India (Fellowship declined due to other commitments).

1995-1997: National Merit Scholarship of the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India for studies leading to Masters in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.

1991-1995: University Merit Scholarship of G. B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, India during B.Sc. for outstanding Grade Point Average obtained throughout the degree program (Scholarship declined due to other scholarship in place during this period).

1991-1995: Merit Scholarship of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Government of India during Bachelors degree program.

CSIR Technolo Award to Dr S K Verma: given by Mr Kapil Sibbal, Minister of S&T

Dr S. K. Verma receiving the CSIR Technology Award 2008 from Mr Kapil Sibbal, Minister of S&T for the discovery of Universal Molecular Signature Technology for species Identification